WRFL women’s players recognised

Tara Murray

Point Cook’s Kymberly Bays has claimed the Western Region Football League women’s division 1 best and fairest.

With COVID-19 restrictions preventing a proper best and fairest night, the league announced all awards for the women’s competitions virtually last week.

Bays finished on 13 votes to finish one vote ahead of Manor Lakes’ Lindsay Newton.

Bays was in front of Newton when the count started online after 10 rounds. Both would poll in the final round, with one vote from Bays enough to secure the win outright.

Hoppers Crossing’s Gilda Incigneri and Spotswood’s Tahalia Wright finished equal third on nine votes.

Bays was named on a half back flank in the team of the year.

Manor Lakes led the way in the team of the year with six representatives, while Mark De Girolamo was named coach of the year.

Manor Lakes was on top of the ladder when the season was called off due to the pandemic.

Caitlin Pretty, who was one of five Spotswood players in the team, was named the captain.

Wyndhamvale’s Chloe Muus claimed the first ever women’s division 2 best and fairest award.

She finished on 12 votes, one clear of North Sunshine’s Tashania Knapp Sirengo.

Roadrunners teammate Rainbow Ebert and Point Cook Centrals’ Madeline Johnson finished third on eight votes.

Knapp Sirengo was in front when the counting started after round 10. Muus was named best on ground in the round 11 match between Wyndhamvale and North Sunshine to hit the front.

One vote in the final round was enough to secure the best and fairest award.

Muss was named a ruck-rover in the team of the year.

West Footscray’s Shane Windridge was named coach of the year. Windridge, who has been reappointed for next year, led his side to the minor premiership.

Five Roosters players were named in the team of the year. There were also five Point Cook Centrals players named.

Yarraville-Seddon’s Melanie Thompson-Allan was named the captain of the division 2 team of the year.